Garden vs. balcony

by balconydresser

acorn squash_1

Sometimes balcony gardening can be frustrating, especially when you see how well the exactly same plant grows in a different environment aka in a garden. Probably one of the plants where the difference is biggest is any type of squash with its need for fertile soil and ample space. So I shouldn’t be too frustrated about my poor results in growing squash this summer (also due to heavy downpours throughout) and instead should be looking forward to all the winter squashes that sprout on the plant in my mother’s garden. Even more so, since its seeds germinated on my window sill first. acorn squash_2While the fist photo (on top) shows the garden squash, here above is my balcony one. It’s not all too bad, but the diference is still huge.

To read about my more successfull squash-growing experience from last year, head here.

